A Sign Of Hope After Hurricane Sandy

I was born and raised in Red Hook,Brooklyn. It’s an old waterfront community in South Brooklyn. When I was a little girl,we would joke about the water overflowing during storms. Well last week Hurricane Sandy took our little joke to the next level and the water came over. She didn’t discriminate between old houses and the new gentrified ones,she raged her way through them all. And she didn’t care if it was a mom and pop owned bodega or an upscale restaurant,she engulfed them all. And when she left Red Hook,her scars were seen around the world. My heart was broken. I have spent as much time as I could there trying to help both old friends and new ones recover. I have cleaned with them and cried with them. I have delivered batteries and hugs. I have walked until my legs became too heavy and my feet too hot. And still tonight as I sit home with lights,heat and hot water, I want to do more! I want to help all of the people who were in the path of the Hurricane but I know that I can’t so I will try to help my old neighborhood of Red Hook,Brooklyn. The place that holds the greatest memories of my life. And so I would love to share this poem that was published in The Red Hook Star Revue, my hometown paper in August 2012.

Underneath A Red Hook Sky:
It was underneath a Red Hook sky
Where a young girl watched
The years go by
Where she learned to pump a swing
Up so high
And fall in love
With a handsome,young guy
Where she spent long,hot summer days
With her friends out on the stoop
Where she remembers Sunday afternoons
Above the roof with dad’s
Magical pigeon coop
And it was underneath a Red Hook sun
Where she learned the true meaning of fun
Always outside with friends
Playing Barbies and Jacks
Practicing double Dutch and the old Klik-Klaks
School years that passed by so fast
Wishing the moments could always last

But it was underneath a Red Hook moon
That she saw her childhood leave too soon!

20121106-232027.jpg

About faengelina

I am a 50 something year old female born and raised in Brooklyn,NY. After an on the job injury in 2012 my life slowed down a bit and I now live in Rhode Island>I love poetry,fashion,music,food,angels,fairies,pixies and art. Please come in and make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in angels,fairies,nurses, heroes, Nurses, Street treats, treasures of New York, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

